Sea

There is a sea

In front of me

Its waves a mass of blue

 

It stretches out

and all around,

but I only see you.

 

It beckons me

and when I go

I will surely be free

 

And yet there is

a plaguing doubt

from somewhere inside me.

 

Or is it you,

you wretched thing,

that clouds judgement, wherefore?

 

And should I leave

you far behind

to rest upon the shore?

 

How can I know

what I will find

when I am in the sea?

 

What treasures there,

that lie in wait,

and are they there for me?

 

Or is this land

a safer place,

without worry or stress?

 

And adventure

into the sea

could be a greater mess.

 

And what of you,

you constant nag

who is so much of me?

 

Am I to bring

my drowning friend

to swim in this great sea?

 

How can I know

what I will find

when I am in the sea?

 

I cannot know

But therein lies

The temptation of the sea.

Author: Jack Taylor

Hey, I'm Jack, a 19 year old English student at the University of Nottingham. Writing goes from creative fiction to serious non-fiction. Hope you enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

